Knowing who you are

As I slow down this week in prep mode for race day, I’ve had more time to think and do other things. Not sure having more time to think is a good thing, as sometimes I can get way too much in my head, but well…you know…ok…onward…

So, yesterday, I wanted to move my body, but not run. My first thought was to go for a walk around Shollenberger Park here in Petaluma. It’s a nice 2 mile loop, where you can see all sorts of wildlife. Don’t ask me what kind of wildlife, because I am not the kind of person who knows. All I can tell you is there are lots of birds and marsh type wildlife. (I’m a city girl who was never a girl scout) It is very peaceful, open, and quiet there, so it’s a good respite from being hunkered down in front of my computer which is where I find myself a lot these days. NEED FRESH AIR! But, I did not go to the park. I made a last minute decision to go to my fitness club instead and go for a swim since it was quite hot. I’ve been a member of CLUB ONE for a few months now, but first time in pool. I think my swimsuit and googles were shocked to be put to use. I had a lane to myself and began swimming freestyle laps. By laps I mean I swim to one side, take a breather and go back. Repeat. I am not a swimmer, you see and I quickly remember why I don’t go more often…BECAUSE FR ME IT IS A STRUGGLE. I feel my lung capacity is like zero when I am in the pool. Maybe I am not breathing right. I did a more laps alternating freestyle no breaststroke. My thoughts turned to: “I can’t believe Michael Phelps has done this all day long for YEARS…I can’t believe people enjoy this…it feels kinda boring to me.” and that’s when I realized that the way I think about swimming is what non-running folks think about running. I got out of pool after about 8-10 laps and 2 elderly gentlemen were nearby sitting and chatting. Be said to me, while smiling, “hey, that’s not long enough…you gotta get back in there.”
I quickly replied. “hey, I’m a runner, Not a swimmer.” He smiled.

And there you have it, folks.

Race day is 4 days. Onward!

Leave a Reply

